Skip to content

Faculty Distinctions

AMS Fellows

The Fellows of the American Mathematical Society program recognizes members who have made outstanding contributions to the creation, exposition, advancement, communication, and utilization of mathematics.

Aaron Bertram
(Class of 2017) 
Mladen Bestvina (Inaugural Class)    
Ken Bromberg (Inaugural Class)
Tommaso de Fernex (Class of 2019) 
Paul Fife (Inaugural Class)
Ken Golden (Inaugural Class)
Christopher Hacon (Inaugural Class)
Srikanth Iyengar (Class of 2014)
Davar Khoshnevisan (Class of 2020)
Dragan Milicic (Inaugural Class)
Paul Roberts (Inaugural Class)
Hugo Rossi (Inaugural Class) 
Karl Schwede (Class of 2021)
Anurag Singh (Class of 2023)
Domingo Toledo (Class of 2016) 
Peter Trapa (Class of 2019)

Breakthrough Prize in Mathematics

The Breakthrough Prize in Mathematics rewards significant discoveries across the many branches of the subject

Cole Prize

The Cole Prize recognizes a notable research work in algebra that has appeared in the last six years.


Guggenheim Fellows

Guggenheim Fellowships are grants to selected individuals made for a minimum of six months and a maximum of twelve months. The purpose of the Guggenheim Fellowship program is to help provide Fellows with blocks of time in which they can work with as much freedom as possible in their areas of research. 

IMS Fellows

The Institute of Mathematical Statistics is an international professional and scholarly society devoted to the development, dissemination, and application of statistics and probability. IMS Fellowship honors the outstanding research and professional contributions of its members.  

Stewart N. Ethier (Class of 1993)
Lajos Horvath (Class of 1990)
Davar Khoshnevisan (Class of 2015)
Firas Rassoul-Agha (Class of 2019)

NAS Fellows

The  National Academy of Sciences (NAS) is a private, non-profit society of distinguished scholars. Scientists are elected by their peers to membership in the NAS for outstanding contributions to research.

Christopher Hacon (Class of 2018)


The National Science Foundation CAREER Awards supports early-career faculty who have the potential to serve as academic role models in research and education and to lead advances in the mission of their department or organization.

Jon Chaika 2015-2020
Tommaso de Fernex 2009-2014
Sean Lawley 2020-2025
Akil Narayan 2019-2024
Braxton Osting 2018-2023
Priyam Patel 2021-2026
Stephan Patrikis 2018-2023
Firas Rassoul-Agha 2008-2015
Karl Schwede 2013-2019

Rollo Davidson Prize

The Rollo Davidson Prize is a prize awarded annually to early-career probabilists by the Rollo Davidson trustees. It is named after English mathematician Rollo Davidson (1944–1970).

Davar Khoshnevisan (Class of 1998)


RS Fellows

The Royal Society is a self-governing Fellowship made up of the most eminent scientists, engineers and technologists from the UK and the Commonwealth. Fellows and Foreign Members are elected for life through a peer review process on the basis of excellence in science.  

Christopher Hacon (Class of 2019)

SIAM Fellows

The SIAM Fellowship Program recognizes outstanding members of the Society for Industrial and Applied Mathematics. The goal of the program is to honor SIAM members who make contributions to the discipline and encourage other members in pursuing leadership positions and in advancing the profession. 

Paul Bressloff (Class of 2016)
Ken Golden (Class of 2011) 
Chris Johnson (Class of 2009)
Jim Keener (Class of 2012)
Graeme Milton (Class of 2009)

SIAM Activity Group on Life Sciences Early Career Prize

The SIAM Activity Group on Life Sciences Early Career Prize (SIAG/LS Early Career Prize) is awarded every two years to one individual in their early career, in the field of mathematics applied to the life sciences, for distinguished contributions to the field in the three calendar years prior to the award year.

Sean Lawley 2018 


Simons Fellows

Simons Fellowships are awarded to applicants based on scientific accomplishments in the preceding five years and the potential scientific impact of the work done during the research sabbatical.

Simons Investigators

Simons Investigators are outstanding theoretical scientists who receive a stable base of research support from the foundation, enabling them to undertake the long-term study of fundamental questions.

Sloan Fellows

Sloan Research Fellowships are awarded to stimulate fundamental research by early-career scientists and scholars of outstanding promise. These two-year fellowships are given each year to researchers in recognition of distinguished performance and a unique potential to make substantial contributions to their field.

Aaron Bertram 1994-96
Mladen Bestvina 1988-90; 1990-92 
Ken Bromberg 2005-07
James Carlson 1977-79
Jonathan Chaika 2015-17
Herb Clemens 1973-75
David Dobson 1997-99
Ron Donagi 1982-84
Aaron Fogelson 1987-89
Les Glaser 1969-71
Christopher Hacon 2003-05
Henryk Hecht 1980-82
Bruce Kleiner 1995-97
Mark Lewis 1994-96
Graeme Milton 1988-90 
Robert Morelli 1996-98
Wieslawa Niziol 1998-2000
Hugo Rossi 1965-67
Yongbin Ruan 1995-97
Gordon Savin 1993-95
Karl Schwede 2012-14
Joseph Taylor 1967-71
Jared Tanner 2007-08
Domingo Toledo 1982-84
Andrejs Treibergs 1985-87
Li-Cheng Tsai 2022-24




Last Updated: 11/11/22