Summer 2018 Wasatch Topology Conference

The Mathematics departments of the University of Utah and Brigham Young University along with the National Science Foundation are sponsoring the 40th Semiannual Wasatch Topology Conference to be held August 15th to 17th, 2018. at the Homestead Resort in Midway, Utah.

The conference will focus on the recent developments in the theory of automorphism groups of free groups and the topology and geometry of spaces on which they act, and will celebrate Mark Feighn's contributions to mathematics. Some funding is available for graduate students and early career mathematicians.

The conference is organized by Mladen Bestvina, Ken Bromberg, Jon Chaika, Greg Conner, Curtis Kent, Eric Swenson and Kevin Wortman.


Yael Algom-Kfir, University of Haifa

Matt Clay, University of Arkansas

Spencer Dowdall, Vanderbilt

Michael Handel, Lehman College, CUNY

Camille Horbez, Orsay

Christopher Leininger, University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign

Lars Louder, University College London

Lee Mosher, Rutgers-Newark

Zlil Sela, Hebrew University

Jing Tao, University of Oklahoma

Karen Vogtmann, University of Warwick


If you are interested in attending the conference please contact the organizers at Some funding is available for graduate students and post-docs. Those interested should also contact the organizers at

The conference will be held at the Homestead Resort in Midway. Participants should contact the organizers to reserve a room.

Past Conferences:
Summer 2017
Summer 2016
Winter 2015
Summer 2015
Fall 2014
Summer 2014
Fall 2013
Summer 2013
Winter 2012
Winter 2011
Summer 2011
Winter 2010
Summer 2010
Winter 2009
Winter 2008
Summer 2008
Summer 2007
Summer 2006
Winter 2005
Spring 2005
Winter 2004
Spring 2004