You are here:


Student Groups

Undergraduate Student Advisory Committee (USAC)

Pi Mu Epsilon (National Mathematics Honor Society)

Association for Women in Mathematics (AWM)

Student Chapter for SIAM (Society for Industrial and Applied Mathematics)

Student Opportunities 

Directed Reading Program (DRP)

Undergraduate Problem Solving Contest



  • You must be an undergraduate enrolled in coursework at the University of Utah (students in the HSUP program are also eligible).
  • You must work independently.
  • Write your solutions clearly and show all of your work.
  • If there is more than one sheet, staple the pages together. Include your name, student ID number, and email address.
  • Bring your solution to the T. Benny Rushing Tutoring Center by the deadline and have the tutor at the desk mark the date and time on your solution. Drop it in the box provided (behind the tutoring desk).
  • A winner will be decided on the basis of the best solution submitted. If no best solution can be determined (i.e. there exist relatively identical solutions), the winner will be the student who submitted the first best solution.
  • Each submission will be given 3 points for a fully correct solution and 1 point for a partially correct solution. The winner of each problem will get a bonus of e points.

This is not exactly a rule as it is unenforceable, but do not try to find the solution to a problem by looking it up in a book or by searching online. That goes against the spirit of the contest.

Other Information

The overall winner of the annual contest will receive an all-expense-paid trip to MathFest, the annual meeting of the Mathematical Association of America. While attending the meeting, the winner will be able to participate in a national problem solving contest.

You can read about Brandon Gibson's experience at MathFest 2012:
My Experience at MathFest

Results 2018 - 2019

Rank Name Pr. 1 Pr. 2 Pr. 3 Pr. 4 Pr. 5 Total
1 McKay Jensen 3+e   3+e  3  1 3+e   13+3e
2 Thomas White 1  3 3+e   13+e
3 Dylan Johnson   3 3+e  12+e 
4 Dane Lacey 3  3  3

  John Ludlum   3  3  -
  Kira Parker  3  3  -
5 Jonah Garner - - 3  3
  Jay Patel - - - 3
Jack Garzella 3  -
  Calvin Lee - 3
7 Michael Keyser  -
  • 2017-2018: Charlotte Blake
  • 2016-2017: Matteo Sogne
  • 2015-2016: Oliver Richardson
  • 2014-2015: Scott Neville
  • 2013-2014: Aric Parkinson
  • 2012-2013: Boya Li
  • 2011-2012: Brandon Gibson
  • 2010-2011: Matthew Stanford
  • 2009-2010: Qiushi Wang
  • 2008-2009: Jason Underdown
  • 2007-2008: Eric Griego
  • 2006-2007: Carlos Gamez
  • 2005-2006: Carlos Gamez
  • 2004-2005: Aaron Wood
  • 2003-2004: John Day
  • 2001-2002: Wei-Shou Hsu

 Turn solutions in to the tutor at the desk in the T. Benny Rushing Mathematics Tutoring Center on or before the due date.

Undergraduate students are also encouraged to get involved with the department through our REU program or undergraduate employment opportunities.

Last Updated: 4/8/19