Altgeld Hall Commutative Algebra Conference

honoring the contributions of

Phillip Griffith

September 16 - 18, 2005

Supported by:

Please direct questions to:

Sandra Spiroff
(801) 581-4278


Andy Kustin
Matt Miller
Anurag Singh
Sandra Spiroff

The organizers wish to thank everyone who participated in the conference.  It would not have been such enjoyable event without the cooperation of everyone involved.  (Check out  picture1 , picture2 , and picture3 from the conference.)  Many congratulations to Phil Griffith on his impressive career and best wishes for the future!

The purpose of this conference, which is open to those working in Commutative Algebra, is to bring together young and established researchers in the field to explore and exchange ideas.  The program is centered around the contributions and influence of Phillip Griffith. The weekend will consist of talks varying from 20-60 minutes in length.

We can support some travel and lodging expenses.   (As of August 26th, all of our funds are committed.)  For information on accommodations, please see our lodging link.  Graduate students and recent Ph.D.'s are especially encouraged to apply.

The conference SCHEDULE is now finalized.  Please see that link for a detailed schedule of the speakers' talks.  The general schedule is shown below.

Friday afternoon Saturday Sunday 
 3:15-6:40pm 8:30am-6:20pm

For available titles and/or abstracts, click on the speakers' names.
Luchezar Avramov
Dale M. Jensen Chair in Mathematics, University of Nebraska
Winfried Bruns
Professor of Mathematics, Universität Osnabrück
S. Dale Cutkosky
Curator's Professor of Mathematics, University of Missouri
Sankar Dutta
Professor of Mathematics, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
Robert Fossum
Professor of Mathematics, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign/ Beckman Institute
Hans-Bjørn Foxby
Associate Professor of Mathematics, Københavns Universitet
Mel Hochster
Jack E. McLaughlin Distinguished University Professor of Mathematics, University of Michigan
Craig Huneke
Henry J. Bischoff Professor of Mathematics, University of Kansas
Srikanth Iyengar
Associate Professor of Mathematics, University of Nebraska
Hamid Kulosman
Visiting Assistant Professor of Mathematics, University of California, Riverside (and University of Louisville 2005-2006)
Claudia Miller
Associate Professor of Mathematics, Syracuse University
Sean Sather-Wagstaff
Assistant Professor of Mathematics, California State University at Dominguez Hills
Hema Srinivasan
Professor of Mathematics, University of Missouri
Bernd Ulrich
Professor of Mathematics, Purdue University
Dana Weston
Associate Professor of Mathematics, University of Missouri

¤ For a list of people who have confirmed their attendance at the conference, see our roster of participants.

¤ We have provided links to city and campus maps, as well as to the local public transportation system, including service from    Champaign's Willard Airport .  More information will soon be available. Please check back for the specific schedule and      other details.

Contact       UIUC Math       Phillip Griffith