Summer 2013 Wasatch Topology Conference

The Mathematics departments of the University of Utah and Brigham Young University along with the National Science Foundation are sponsoring the 32nd Semiannual Wasatch Topology Conference to be held August 21st to 23rd, 2013 at the Yarrow Hotel in Park City, Utah.

The conference is being organized by Mladen Bestvina, Ken Bromberg, Jon Chaika, Greg Conner, Jessica Purcell, Eric Swenson and Kevin Wortman.


Noel Brady, U. of Oklahoma
    Snowflake subgroups of CAT(0) groups

Nathan Geer, Utah State U.
    The Turaev-Viro invariant and some of its relatives

Yair Glasner, Ben Gurion U. and U of Utah
    (Almost) all dense subgroups of SL_2(Q_p) are created equal, while these in SL_2(C) are not

Mark Hagen, U. of Michigan
    Cubulating mapping tori of some free group endomorphisms

Patrick Hooper, CUNY
    Cutting and Resewing Pillow Cases

Kathryn Mann, U. of Chicago
    Components of representation spaces

Alex Wright, U. of Chicago

    GL(2,R) orbit closures of translation surfaces

Ric Wade, U. of Utah
    Automorphisms of right-angled Artin groups




If you are interested in attending the conference please contact the organizers at Some funding is available for graduate students and post-docs. Those interested should also contact the organizers at

The conference will be held at the Yarrow Hotel in Park City. Participants should contact the organizers to reserve a room.

Past Conferences:

Winter 2012
Winter 2011
Summer 2011
Winter 2010
Winter 2005
Spring 2005
Winter 2004
Spring 2004