Spring 2005 Wasatch Topology Conference

The Mathematics departments of the University of Utah and Brigham Young University along with the National Science Foundation are sponsoring the Twenty-first Semiannual Wasatch Topology Conference to be held May 31 to June 3, 2005 in Park City Utah.

There will be a lamb roast/picnic on Thursday afternoon. The conference is being organized by Mladen Bestvina, Ken Bromberg, Greg Conner, Michah Sageev and Eric Swenson.



Azer Akhmedov - UCSB
A new metric criterion for non-amenability

Uri Bader - University of Chicago
Boundary representations for negatively curved groups -
irreducibility and rigidity

Igor Belegradek - Georgia Tech
Prescribing cusps of aspherical manifolds

Indira Chatterji - Cornell/Columbia
Homotopy idempotents on closed manifolds

Max Forester - University of Oklahoma
First and second order isoperimetric exponents of groups

Daniel Groves - Caltech
Aspects of relatively hyperbolic groups

Michael Handel - CUNY
Fixed Points of abelian actions on $R^2$ and $S^2$ 

John Holt - Massey University
On the topology of the space of punctured-torus groups

Richard Kent - University of Texas
Shadows of mapping class groups: capturing convex co-compactness

Chris Leininger - Columbia
Graphs of Veech groups

Jon McCammond - UCSB
Artin groups and polytopes

Kevin Whyte - University of Illinois, Chicago
Quasi-isometric embeddings of symmetric spaces

Dani Wise - McGill
Special Cube Complexes

If you are interested in attending the conference please contact the organizers at wtc@math.utah.edu. Some funding is available for graduate students and post-docs. Those interested should also contact the organizers at wtc@math.utah.edu.

The conference will be held at the Treasure Mountain Inn on Main St. in downtown Park City. Participants should contact the Inn directly to reserve a room:

Thea Leonard

Room rates are:

Studios: $50/night
One bedrooms: $65/night
Two bedrooms: $95/night